We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

I have played around with the idea of creating a personal mission statement for a long time–being able to articulate what I love to do, how I do it, and who my work serves and what need it fills for them has always challenged me. It’s an intriguing process, and I’m hopeful that this time I will be able to follow through with it and put together something that will guide my search for my liberation-based livelihood.

The three steps of crafting a personal mission statement are pretty simple when you look at them objectively, but I have a feeling that they won’t be as easy as they look.

1) I describe what it is I love to do – this is my passion, my mission, my purpose.
2) I describe how I do it, what it is that I create or provide.
3) I describe who this serves and what need it fills for them.

Part 1 is describing what I love to do–my passion, my mission, my purpose. Maia gave us a list of verbs to use in doing that. She says, “If you’re ready to jump out of your chair because you feel so in tune with that quality, give it a 5 [on a scale of 1 to 5].” If the word rates a 4 or 5, it could be included in the “what” part of your mission statement.

What words make me want to jump out of my chair because I feel so in tune with that quality?

heal
connect
encourage
restore
create
give
embrace

So my answer for today to “What do I love to do?” is this:

My mission is to heal those who are trying to heal others, to encourage them in the work they have been called to do, to help them embrace the hurt within themselves and restore their hearts and spirits, to connect them to a creative community that will revive their joy and bright faith.

Comments on: "LBL Day 16 Crafting Your Personal Mission Statement, Part 1" (1)

  1. […] LBL Day 16 Crafting Your Personal Mission Statement, Part 1 (thesadcafecommunity.wordpress.com) […]

What do you think? Share!!

