We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

Don’t Push the River

“As your faith is strengthened you will find that there is no longer the need to have a sense of control, that things will flow as they will, and that you will flow with them, to your great delight and benefit.” ~Emmanuel

Another way I think about faith is that it’s a kind of “certain uncertainty.” I have a love-hate relationship with that “certain uncertainty.” It’s hard to put aside that attempt at control. I always think of the saying, “Don’t push the river–it flows by itself.” But I catch myself saying under my breath, “I know better than the river which direction it should take.” I start to push my life in the direction I think it should go, gently at first. Then suddenly my fists are clenched, my stomach hurts, and my mind is racing with angry, fearful thoughts.

I just want the river to flow. I want to close my eyes and float. That is faith to me.

Comments on: "Don’t Push the River" (1)

  1. […] Don’t Push the River (thesadcafecommunity.wordpress.com) […]

What do you think? Share!!

