We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

Today’s journaling/reflection assignment in “Fall in Love With Your Work” is something I guess all of us might be a bit threatened by–“raise your comfort level with uncertainty.” Could you hear the level of uncertainty I felt in yesterday’s post? It was pretty high, so to be told now that I need to raise my comfort level with that? Not feeling good about the concept….

Here are the questions Maia asked to help us do this:

What is your own relationship to uncertainty?

I’d love to tell you and myself that uncertainty is an old friend and that I’m comfortable with her like an old friend. But that would be a lie, and I’m trying to be as unscrupulously honest as possible in this work. Actually, maybe that is being honest–I do have a very dear old friend who I love and adore, but there has always been along with the love and comfort our friendship brings, a deep level of uncertainty as well. It is as if our relationship is based on a fault that shifts periodically, and suddenly we see each other and the relationship as a threat. We’ve always said that we bring out the best and the worst in each other.

As a healer and a social service giver, uncertainty is part of the work that never goes away. But sometimes I feel that it will never be more than an uneasy companion to my work.

How open are you to changing that relationship and seeing uncertainty in a new light? I’m open, because I’ve already sort of started this shift in this blog post; but I have to focus on taking one step at a time.

What will tomorrow hold?

What do you think? Share!!

