We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

I already blogged once today about my work in Maia Duerr’s “Fall in Love With Your Work,” but as you know if you’ve been following me, I’m also a part of Jess Morrow’s Invincible Summer course. I couldn’t resist today’s prompt, and it seemed to go along quite beautifully with my earlier post.

This is the prompt that challenged me to say yes to the temptation to answer the call:

I always prefer to celebrate this holiday in a more personal (as opposed to patriotic) manner, by stopping and considering my own personal independence. For today, try writing about your own independence: do you wish you had more independence in your life? What could you do to gain it? Have you had any particularly liberating experiences that earned you more independence? (If so, write about one or more of them!)

I definitely wish I had more independence in my life. When I say that, I don’t mean I don’t want people in my life. I mean that I wish I had the resources to stand up in the world and declare my place in it. I wish I could afford to answer my calling freely and unreservedly and wholeheartedly. I wish I never had to say no. I wish I could always answer yes to every opportunity that needs to be said yes to.

How can I gain more independence? How did the United States gain more independence? They fought a war, and maybe that’s what I need to do too. Not a war with others, but one with myself. I need to fight a war with the confusion and fear that keeps me from knowing what to do. I need to learn to say no when no is what needs to be said. I need to say no to wrong choices, no to wrong people, no to wrong attitudes. I need to say no to fear.

I need to learn to say yes when I have a hand in something being ready to be birthed into the world. I need to say yes to that vision, and yes to that action. I need to say yes to love and compassion and equality and inclusion. I need to say yes and declare that I am independent and no longer need to be controlled by people’s opinions and fears and insecurities, especially my own.

What do you think? Share!!

