We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

Some of you might have seen me active on Facebook, and at various times, on Twitter.  I’ve tried to explain how some of those connections have as much depth and richness as people I meet in real life, and I want to share that with you all here–most of whom I only know through wall posts on Facebook, comments on this blog, and your own blog posts.

One person (and her family) who has impacted me deeply through her Internet presence is Patti Digh. She is an unflinching advocate for love in all its forms, and her honesty and vulnerability in her writing has broken my own heart open over and over again. Her stories of her daughters, her passion for Johnny Depp and her adoration of her husband Mr. Brilliant, and her struggles with quitting caffeine and cheese puffs cold turkey have made Patti a s-hero in my journey to live a live worth writing about. Why? Because to Patti, it’s all worth writing about. She even makes a cranky day something to see through the lens of humor and compassion.

I had the honor of meeting Patti, Mr. Brilliant, and her younger daughter Tess on my birthday this year. Patti came and broke bread with me, my partner, and another friend of mine in Asheville, North Carolina. Tess and Mr. Brilliant stopped by to say hi. I absolutely can’t tell you what a delight and joy it was to see that Patti was exactly the same person in person that she is in every online venue I follow her in.

Asheville holds a very dear place in my heart as we will be moving there in the next few weeks. Facebook has also paved the way for that move by giving me the opportunity to develop some preliminary connections with some awesome, incredible women. This has been such a joy and blessing as I see the community reach out to bring me into their warmth. It is home there, since so many hearts have already opened to me.

Don’t underestimate the power of online connections, because you never know who you might meet or what a difference they might make in your life.

Comments on: "Connecting With People Who Live in My Computer" (2)

  1. Oh yeah Lana, I hear you on that one! Over the years I have found a whole community online and have learnt so much! Thank you for sharing your story, awesome!

  2. This is so, so true. The people who’ve got me through some of the worst times in my life have lived in my computer. I am immensely grateful for the wonders of the Internet, and especially for services such as LiveJournal and Dreamwidth, which have helped me to build and maintain beautiful connections with so many wonderful people all around the world.

What do you think? Share!!

