We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

Life in a Small Town

I grew up in a small town of about 10,000 people. When I was 33, due to depression, I moved in with my parents in an even smaller town slightly south of my hometown. After 10 years on my own with my partner in Canada, here I am in that same small town area where I grew up and grew strong, then had to leave to find who I needed to be as a grownup in the adult world.

As somewhat of an outsider, I see things more clearly than I did growing up. One thing I’ve learned is that it’s not necessarily a bad thing that everyone knows your business. Yes, you can’t control what people know and say about you when you’re not around. But you also know that if you’re in trouble, you’ll have people keeping an eye on you to make sure that you’re okay.
I learned one thing about community from coming back home.

In the words of Robert Frost’s “The Death of the Hired Man”–“Home is the place where, when you have to go there, They have to take you in.” But home isn’t a place. Home is the people who open their hearts and lives to you without expecting anything in return. We should always strive, when building any kind of community, to make it a home.

What do you think? Share!!

