We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

Breaking the Silence

“Lying is done with words and also with silence.” -Adrienne Rich

Much as I want to, I can no longer stay quiet about who I am and what I want from my life. I hear all the voices, inside and outside of my brain, that are both demanding and imploring that I stay small, and they almost convince me to listen, to put my trust in them. But there’s the voice of the most loving and most radical part of me that knows a truth that no one else does. I can change the world.

Those around me don’t know it yet. They look over my shoulder to see all the things I’ve done wrong and tell me that I’ll always be THAT person. THAT person who carries my past straggling behind me. THAT person who failed over and over, who didn’t give the people who loved her the best she had to offer.

Then I realize I’m not an object with no emotions. I’m human. I make mistakes and grow from them. I love people at the same time I find myself hiding from them. I speak quietly, “I am me, I am human, and I CAN change the world.”

The voices fade away into nothingness. The silence has changed from fear to power. I can change the world

Comments on: "Breaking the Silence" (2)

  1. Beautiful! You absolutely can change the world!

  2. Beautifully said. I can especially relate to the sense of dragging our past selves and mistakes around behind us like luggage. Let’s drop that baggage, whaddya say? And just get the heck ON with it already!

What do you think? Share!!

