We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

Danielle LaPorte’s Burning Question for this week is, “What’s One Dumb Thing You Used to Believe In?” I come to the answer late, but certain of my response. 🙂

When I was young, I used to believe that the soap operas my mother watched were real people living out their real lives every day for an hour on television. I was absolutely convinced that what we saw was true, and that in the twenty-three hours on weekdays and the weekends we didn’t see them, they were still doing all the things we never saw–the things normal people did, like work and watch TV. I clearly remember scenes almost 40 years later as if they were people I actually KNEW.

It has taught me about ways of living that are nothing like my own, and that no matter how confusing MY life gets, it can never be as convoluted as the love life of Erica Kane Martin Brent Cudahy Chandler Roy Montgomery Montgomery Chandler Marick Marick Montgomery. (Yes, I was an All My Children fan; but I did look this up. And this was just her husbands, not her lovers!!!)

Maybe it was dumb to believe that, but at least I took something away from it. What’s one dumb thing you used to believe in?

What do you think? Share!!

