We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

Danielle LaPorte says, “You are the economist of what matters to you.” I’ve been struggling with my purpose for money since I decided to create my own way of making a living rather than depending on a steady paycheck from an agency. How much is enough? What do I want to do for me and those I love? What do I want to give to the world to make it a better place? How can I get from where I am now to where I want to be financially?

Danielle’s question gets right to the heart of it all. Money has never been a deal breaker with me in my work–it can’t be. We all know just how underpaid the nonprofit sector is, and I have always just accepted what I was offered since it was enough to make my life work.

In an ideal world, though, my money would give me the freedom to spend time with family and friends, to travel, to create my own way of helping people that does not depend on unstable funding, to invest in people, and to give them ways to make their lives better. I want to make my home base in the creative and collaborative community of Asheville, North Carolina, and to own a home and land large enough to make a home for our dogs and cats.

I’m sure there’s more for me…what about you? What’s YOUR purpose for money?

Comments on: "This Week’s Burning Question: What’s Your Purpose for Money?" (1)

  1. […] to create my own way of making a living rather than depending on a steady paycheck from …Via thesadcafecommunity.wordpress.com Learn how to stretch to reach life goals – Charlotte […]

What do you think? Share!!

