We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

The Gifts of Community

Most of us are part of more than one community. I don’t mean the town or city you live in, but groups of people from whom you learn and people to whom you offer your gifts and contributions. The disability community does inclusion in communities particularly well in theory. People with disabilities are encouraged to find different roles and places where they fit into the community around them. Some of them are more connected and give more to the world around them than we who are not hampered by some perceived lack of physical or mental ability. I suspect the reason for this is that the process is much more intentional than we often make it.

My challenge to anyone reading this is to look at your places in your world. Do you just take your responsibilities to the communities you’re a part of for granted? Or do you actively seek out places that are a perfect fit for your gifts, places that need you to be YOU and no one else? If not, what’s stopping you? What can you do about it? Please feel free to share your ideas with me by email or in the communities.

Comments on: "The Gifts of Community" (2)

  1. Hi Lana, what a beautiful blog. I have found myself in the bloggers community and I embrace the responsibility to support other bloggers on their journey as much as I can (between the blogging challenge, my children and my work). Communities are very special and I believe in nurturing them!!!

    Lots of love
    Vanessa

  2. […] The Gifts of Community (thesadcafecommunity.wordpress.com) […]

What do you think? Share!!

