We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

Moving Forward

I believe that no matter what someone’s situation is, he or she can still find a calling in life.  You are not doomed to a life of second best or “what ifs.”  You can find the place that you’re supposed to be right now.  Even if you don’t have a physical or mental disability, but you still feel as though you’re trapped in a life that you didn’t imagine yourself living, it’s not too late. It’s NEVER too late.  You can change one thing about your life. This is a message we can take to those we support.

For instance, when I didn’t have anything meaningful in my life, I went back to something I loved and didn’t do enough of—writing.  I began finding my way back to the old me.  Even though I wasn’t the same person and never would be again, I learned that I could pull some of the old pieces into the person I had become. Through my writing, I made peace with the change and loss I had gone through, learned to reach out to others I would never meet, and used my voice to speak for changes in the world that would make it a better place.  I started to be the change I wanted to see in the world.

It’s a constant struggle to do the right thing for others and not to turn the other cheek when I see injustice.  I like my comfortable world.  But what is right is right.  Working for justice for all people, without concern for how they are different from you, is the right thing to do.  I hope at least you will join me in the struggle.

What do you think? Share!!

