We can change this world with words like "love" and "freedom."

I’m beginning to learn some things about myself as I get older and get to know more people who have the same conditions as I do. I’m learning that it’s not easy to be different from the norm, but I don’t have to pretend with people either. To be honest with the people in my life, I have to admit that I’m not just out of shape. There are certain things that I have never been able to do and others that I may never be able to do again (or at least not in the same way).

Many people have told me that my disability should limit my accomplishments.  The doctors supposedly said that I might not ever walk—wrong!  They suspected that I might have a learning disability or be mentally challenged.  The people who know and love me probably think sometimes that I’m definitely not the “brightest penny in the box,” as the old saying goes, but I have completed both a four-year college degree and a graduate-level degree.  My main disability is not the spina bifida or the hydrocephalus.  A friend of mine says that maybe I did better without constant medical intervention to try to make things better.  Who knows?

What do you think? Share!!

